Click to Call
    Click to Call

Divisional Chart In Vedic Astrology

Divisional Chart In Vedic Astrology

The divisional charts in astrology assume great and larger importance for horoscope analysis according to vedic astrology. The divisional chart is also called a varga chart. The credit for success of vedic astrology over all other systems available in the present world goes in no small measures to the system of harmonic vargas or divisional chart.

The vargas hold the key to predictions and delineating a horoscope for a comprehensive analysis. If benfic planet is exalted in the natal chart (D-1) but debilitated in the respective divisional chart fails to give any benfic results in respect of the signification represented by the planet concerned. The birth data should be correct for study of any divisional chart. In D-charts we take into accounts the analysis of position changing with a difference of even one minute in the time of birth.

Each vargas represents a specific aspect of a natives life like wealth, education, marriage, affairs, children profession etc. Maharishi parashar says that lord brahma is described 16 kinds of divisions (vargas) for each sign. These are-

Rashi chart

D-1 is the basic chart from where horoscopic study of destiny begins. This chart indicates physical body and its related activities. The other divisional chart are sub divisions of this chart.

Hora chart

D-2 chart deals with wealth, sustenance, money matters. This charts help in understanding the wealth position and financial matters of native. Male planets in the Sun’s hora are taken as beneficial while female planets are effective in the moon’s hora.


D-3 chart indicates all about co-born (brother, sister). This chart is important for longevity analysis.

Chathurthamsa or turyeamsaa

D-4 chart indicates residence, fortunes, overall happiness, fixed assets, property both in the form of property and worldly attachment.


D-7 chart indicates procreative power. Progeny related matters are seen from this chart.

Navamsa or dharmamsa

D-9 chart is most important in predictive astrology. It is complementary chart to the birth chart where in planetary chart in assessed.

Dasamsa or Swargamsa

D-10 chart indicates “mahat phalam” I.e. the results which indicates the standing and status of the natives in society on account of the interaction of fate and interaction.

Dwadasamsa or suryamsa

D-12 chart shows about parents, their well being, health, longevity.

Shodasamsa or kalamsa

D-16 chart indicates vehicles, conveyance, luxuries, happiness, an accident from vehicles, inner strength of the characters.


D-20 charts tell about spiritualism and progress in this field, worship of a deity, leaning towards a particular sect.

Chaturvimamsa or siddhamsa

D-24 chart is seen for gaining idea of education, Learning, success in competition etc.

Bhamsa or nakshatramsa or saptavisamsa

D-27 chart indicates general physical and inner strength and weakness of native.


D-30 chart is consulted to ascertain the difficulties, evils and miseries coming through mishappening and diseases for a particular native.

Chatvarimsamsa or khavedamsa

D-40 chart generally indicates the auspicious and inauspicious effects of a horoscope.


D-45 chart shows the character of a native. Paternal legacy is also seen in this chart.


D-60 chart shows past karma, repayment of deeds of the past lives.

~Richa Yadav


Leave a Reply